J.W. Galloway Limited
Registered name: J.W. GALLOWAY LIMITED
J.W. Galloway Limited made a £597k loss in the year to 25 Feb 2024 (revenue not disclosed).
J.W. Galloway Limited reported a loss of £597k in the year to 25 Feb 2024; its revenue was not disclosed. It had 5 employees. The company is classified under “production of meat and poultry meat products” and is based in Annan; we hold 2 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Annan, Scotland
- Age
- 91 yrs · since 1935
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Pass-through vehicle. This looks like a holding, staffing or umbrella company. Its revenue and profit may largely pass through to or from other entities, so the figures may not reflect a standalone operating business. It is excluded from our opportunity lists.
Key figures
This company published its profit but not its turnover, so revenue and margins are not disclosed. We never estimate them.
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 26 Feb 2023 | 25 Feb 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Profit only | Profit only |
| Profit & loss | ||
| Revenue (turnover) | — | — |
| Profit after tax | £1.1m | −£597k |
| Profit (best available) | £1.1m | −£597k |
| Staff costs | £56k | £457k |
| Employees (average) | 5 | 5 |
| Ratios | ||
| Profit margin | — | — |
| Profit per employee | £221k | −£119k |
| Growth (year on year) | ||
| Profit growth | — | ▼154.1% |
| Headcount growth | — | 0% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||
| Cash at bank | £2.9m | £36k |
| Net assets | £83.9m | £79.8m |
| Fixed assets | £5.1m | £5m |
| Current assets | £8.9m | £6.1m |
| Debtors | £2k | £1k |
| Deferred income | £46k | £64k |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Jun 2026 | FullAccounts · bulk data Jun 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- —
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- —
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- —
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- −£119k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- —
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- —
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▼5%
- Now £79.8m
- Cash at bank
- ▼99%
- Now £36k
- Headcount
- 0%
- Now 5
- Deferred income
- ▲39%
- Now £64k
- Fixed assets
- ▼2%
- Now £5m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Subsidiaries (6)
- Scotbeef Inverurie LimitedRev. £62.5m · Profit −£3m
- Vivers Scotlamb LimitedRev. £48.4m · Profit £348k
- New Zealand Lamb Shops LimitedFigures not disclosed
- R.B. Meiklejon LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Scotbeef LimitedRev. — · Profit £136k
- Strathaven Abattoir LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- Chesterfield Poultry LimitedThorne · Production of meat and poultry meat products
- Revenue
- £246m
- Profit
- £23.7m
- Staff
- 248
- Oakfield (Foods) LimitedBorehamwood · Production of meat and poultry meat products
- Revenue
- £336m
- Profit
- £9.8m
- Staff
- 66
- Smithfield Murray LimitedPontefract · Production of meat and poultry meat products
- Revenue
- £69m
- Profit
- £6.6m
- Staff
- 138
- Jack Brand LimitedLondon · Production of meat and poultry meat products
- Revenue
- £58.8m
- Profit
- £6.5m
- Staff
- 134
- Delenco Foods LimitedLondon · Production of meat and poultry meat products
- Revenue
- £22.6m
- Profit
- £4m
- Staff
- 87
- McKeown Fine Foods LimitedRasharkin · Production of meat and poultry meat products
- Revenue
- £25.9m
- Profit
- £3.3m
- Staff
- 129
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 25 Feb 2024 (profit −£597k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Jun 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.