McGill's Bus Service Limited
Registered name: MCGILL'S BUS SERVICE LIMITED
Part of Dalglen (No. 1812) Limited groupMcGill's Bus Service Limited made a £1.1m loss in the year to 28 Dec 2025 (revenue not disclosed).
McGill's Bus Service Limited reported a loss of £1.1m in the year to 28 Dec 2025; its revenue was not disclosed. It had 513 employees. The company is classified under “other urban, suburban or metropolitan passenger land transport (not underground, metro or similar)” and is based in Greenock; we hold 5 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Greenock, Scotland
- Age
- 77 yrs · since 1949
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “Arranglen Limited”
Key figures
This company published its profit but not its turnover, so revenue and margins are not disclosed. We never estimate them.
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 2 Jan 2022 | 1 Jan 2023 | 31 Dec 2023 | 29 Dec 2024 | 28 Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Profit only | Profit only | Profit only | Profit only | Profit only |
| Profit & loss | |||||
| Revenue (turnover) | — | — | — | — | — |
| Profit after tax | −£300k | £773k | £1.1m | −£1.3m | −£1.1m |
| Profit (best available) | −£300k | £773k | £1.1m | −£1.3m | −£1.1m |
| Employees (average) | 628 | 555 | 559 | 561 | 513 |
| Ratios | |||||
| Profit margin | — | — | — | — | — |
| Profit per employee | −£477 | £1.4k | £1.9k | −£2.3k | −£2.1k |
| Growth (year on year) | |||||
| Profit growth | — | — | ▲36% | ▼224.7% | — |
| Headcount growth | — | ▼11.6% | ▲0.7% | ▲0.4% | ▼8.6% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||||
| Cash at bank | £11m | £6.4m | £9.8m | £2.5m | £502k |
| Net assets | £8.7m | £9.5m | £10.5m | £9.2m | £8.2m |
| Fixed assets | £48.3m | £57.3m | £74.4m | £69.1m | £66.9m |
| Current assets | £16.7m | £18.1m | £21.2m | £21.3m | £23.3m |
| Debtors | £635k | £958k | £1.1m | £2m | £2.3m |
| Deferred income | £744k | £4.4m | £4.2m | £2.9m | £2.5m |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Sep 2024 | Accounts · bulk data Sep 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Jun 2025 | FullAccounts · bulk data Dec 2025 | FullAccounts · bulk data Sep 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- —
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- —
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- —
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- −£2.1k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- —
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- —
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▼12%
- Now £8.2m
- Cash at bank
- ▼80%
- Now £502k
- Headcount
- ▼9%
- Now 513
- Deferred income
- ▼14%
- Now £2.5m
- Fixed assets
- ▼3%
- Now £66.9m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Dalglen (No. 1812) Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Arranglen Limited75–100%
- McGill's Bus Service Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Subsidiaries (7)
- Loch Lomond Bus Services Ltd.Rev. £18.3m · Profit £63.9k
- McGill’s Scotland East LimitedRev. £4.4m · Profit £2.3m
- Loch Lomond Travel LimitedFigures not disclosed
- McGill's City Connect Ltd.Figures not disclosed
- Prentice Westwood LimitedRev. — · Profit £299k
- Smoothie Cruisers Ltd.Figures not disclosed
- Taybus Holdings LimitedFigures not disclosed
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- HS1 LimitedLondon · Other urban, suburban or metropolitan passenger land transport (not underground, metro or similar)
- Revenue
- £292m
- Profit
- £115m
- Staff
- 62
- Metroline LimitedLondon · Other urban, suburban or metropolitan passenger land transport (not underground, metro or similar)
- Revenue
- £444m
- Profit
- £6m
- Staff
- 4,725
- Tayside Public Transport Company LimitedOther urban, suburban or metropolitan passenger land transport (not underground, metro or similar)
- Revenue
- £22.5m
- Profit
- £5.3m
- Staff
- 242
- McGill’s Scotland East LimitedLarbert · Other urban, suburban or metropolitan passenger land transport (not underground, metro or similar)
- Revenue
- £4.4m
- Profit
- £2.3m
- Staff
- 124
- Grant Palmer LimitedFlitwick · Other urban, suburban or metropolitan passenger land transport (not underground, metro or similar)
- Revenue
- £8m
- Profit
- £1.6m
- Staff
- 92
- Safeguard Coaches LimitedGuildford · Other urban, suburban or metropolitan passenger land transport (not underground, metro or similar)
- Revenue
- £5.1m
- Profit
- £1.4m
- Staff
- 61
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 28 Dec 2025 (profit −£1.1m), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Sep 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.