Wine Inns Limited
Registered name: WINE INNS LIMITED
Part of Golf Holdings Limited groupWine Inns Limited made £12.8m revenue and £470k profit in the year to 31 Dec 2025. read from filing text
Wine Inns Limited’s revenue fell 1% to £12.8m in the year to 31 Dec 2025, with £470k profit and 110 employees. The company is classified under “retail sale of beverages in specialised stores”; we hold 4 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Northern Ireland
- Age
- 55 yrs · since 1971
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently.
Key figures
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Dec 2022 | 31 Dec 2023 | 31 Dec 2024 | 31 Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&L | Full P&L | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text |
| Profit & loss | ||||
| Revenue (turnover) | £12.7m | £12.7m | £13m | £12.8m |
| Cost of sales | £8.9m | £8.7m | £9.1m | £8.6m |
| Gross profit | £3.9m | £4m | £3.9m | £4.2m |
| Operating profit | £192k | £416k | £272k | £626k |
| Profit before tax | £191k | £416k | £355k | £626k |
| Profit after tax | £158k | £312k | £288k | £470k |
| Profit (best available) | £158k | £312k | £288k | £470k |
| Staff costs | £1.5m | £1.6m | £1.7m | £1.7m |
| Employees (average) | 121 | 123 | 122 | 110 |
| Ratios | ||||
| Profit margin | 1.2% | 2.5% | 2.2% | 3.7% |
| Gross margin | 30.4% | 31.7% | 29.7% | 33.1% |
| Revenue per employee | £105k | £103k | £106k | £116k |
| Profit per employee | £1.3k | £2.5k | £2.4k | £4.3k |
| Cash conversion | — | −15.8% | −59.3% | −16.5% |
| Growth (year on year) | ||||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼0.2% | ▲2% | ▼1.3% |
| Profit growth | — | ▲97.5% | ▼7.8% | ▲63.1% |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲1.7% | ▼0.8% | ▼9.8% |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | ||||
| Cash at bank | £38.8k | £44.7k | £65.6k | £47.9k |
| Net assets | £10.7m | £11m | £11.5m | £12m |
| Fixed assets | £7.4m | £7.3m | £7.9m | £7.9m |
| Current assets | £5.2m | £5.4m | £5.6m | £6.1m |
| Debtors | £4m | £4.2m | £4.2m | £4.7m |
| Deferred income | £69k | £59.5k | £54.6k | £69.9k |
| Cash from operations | — | −£65.5k | −£161k | −£104k |
| Source | Accounts · bulk data Sep 2024 | Accounts · bulk data Sep 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Sep 2025 | FullAccounts · bulk data Sep 2026 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- 3.7%
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- 33.1%
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- £116k
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £4.3k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- −16.5%
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- 61.7%
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- 0.5%
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- 37%
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- ▲4%
- Now £12m
- Cash at bank
- ▼27%
- Now £47.9k
- Headcount
- ▼10%
- Now 110
- Deferred income
- ▲28%
- Now £69.9k
- Fixed assets
- ▼0%
- Now £7.9m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Golf Holdings Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Wine Inns Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
Subsidiaries (3)
- Winemark the Winemerchants LimitedRev. £23m · Profit £965k
- Regency Hotel (Northern Ireland) LimitedRev. £13.5m · Profit £1.3m
- Ulster Wine Company LimitedFigures not disclosed
Sister companies (4)
- City of Belfast Warehousing LimitedFigures not disclosed
- Cutter's Wharf LimitedFigures not disclosed
- James E. McCabe LimitedRev. — · Profit £1.2m
- Philip Russell LimitedRev. — · Profit £2.2m
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- First Developments LimitedLondon · Retail sale of beverages in specialised stores
- Revenue
- £17.8m
- Profit
- £133k
- Staff
- 43
- Remarkable Pubs LimitedLondon · Retail sale of beverages in specialised stores
- Revenue
- £8.5m
- Profit
- £500k
- Staff
- 138
- Winemark the Winemerchants LimitedRetail sale of beverages in specialised stores
- Revenue
- £23m
- Profit
- £965k
- Staff
- 214
- Wineflair (Belfast) LimitedBelfast · Retail sale of beverages in specialised stores
- Revenue
- £35m
- Profit
- £347k
- Staff
- 381
- Liquorland LimitedBelfast · Retail sale of beverages in specialised stores
- Revenue
- £35m
- Profit
- £242k
- Staff
- 381
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Dec 2025 (profit £470k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Sep 2026. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.