Gyrus Medical Limited
Registered name: GYRUS MEDICAL LIMITED
Part of Atl Technology UK Holdings Limited groupGyrus Medical Limited made £993k profit in the year to 31 Dec 2023 (revenue not disclosed).
Gyrus Medical Limited reported £993k profit in the year to 31 Dec 2023; its revenue was not disclosed. It had 187 employees. The company is classified under “manufacture of medical and dental instruments and supplies” and is based in Cardiff; we hold 3 years of its filed accounts.
- Status
- Active
- Location
- Cardiff, Wales
- Age
- 37 yrs · since 1989
- Type
- Private Limited Company
Part of a group. The filing indicates this company sits within a group structure, so its results may depend on intra-group trading and it may be hard to replicate independently. From the filing: “During the year, the company was acquired by ATL Technology UK Holdings LImited, a company registered in England and Wales with company number 14795385, who became the immediate parent undertaking. Th”
Key figures
This company published its profit but not its turnover, so revenue and margins are not disclosed. We never estimate them.
Badges are automated estimates derived from the filed figures — not statements of fact about the company.
Financial history
| Year to | 31 Mar 2022 | 31 Mar 2023 | 31 Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | Full P&Lread from filing text | Full P&Lread from filing text | Profit only |
| Profit & loss | |||
| Revenue (turnover) | £34.4m | £33m | — |
| Cost of sales | £19.3m | £20m | £13.7m |
| Gross profit | £15.1m | £13m | — |
| Operating profit | £3.4m | £1.3m | — |
| Profit before tax | £3.4m | £1.5m | £1.2m |
| Profit after tax | £3.3m | £1.7m | £993k |
| Profit (best available) | £3.3m | £1.7m | £993k |
| Staff costs | £9.1m | £9.8m | £7m |
| Employees (average) | 197 | 200 | 187 |
| Ratios | |||
| Profit margin | 9.7% | 5% | — |
| Gross margin | 43.9% | 39.3% | — |
| Revenue per employee | £175k | £165k | — |
| Profit per employee | £17k | £8.3k | £5.3k |
| Growth (year on year) | |||
| Revenue growth | — | ▼4.1% | — |
| Profit growth | — | ▼50.2% | — |
| Headcount growth | — | ▲1.5% | — |
| Balance sheet — indirect signals, not revenue | |||
| Cash at bank | £9k | £6k | £1.3m |
| Net assets | £23.3m | £25m | £6.4m |
| Fixed assets | £3.2m | £2.4m | £2.4m |
| Current assets | £25.7m | £27.3m | £16.6m |
| Debtors | £2.8m | £4.6m | £5.1m |
| Deferred income | £3.3m | £3.2m | £3.3m |
| Source | FullAccounts · bulk data Aug 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Aug 2024 | FullAccounts · bulk data Nov 2024 |
How the business works
- Profit margin
- —
- Profit ÷ revenue.
- Gross margin
- —
- Gross profit ÷ revenue. High for software and services.
- Revenue per employee
- —
- Revenue ÷ average employees.
- Profit per employee
- £5.3k
- Profit ÷ average employees.
- Cash conversion
- —
- Cash generated from operations ÷ operating profit. Needs a cash-flow statement.
- Fixed assets ÷ revenue
- —
- Capital intensity. Low = capital-light, cheaper to start.
- Deferred income ÷ revenue
- —
- Customers paying upfront (subscriptions, deposits). Approximate when combined with accruals.
- Debtors ÷ revenue
- —
- Money owed by customers. Low = customers pay quickly.
Balance-sheet signals
Year-on-year changes in filed balance-sheet items. They can hint at momentum (or investment) but are not revenue or profit and must not be read as such.
- Net assets
- —
- Now £6.4m
- Cash at bank
- —
- Now £1.3m
- Headcount
- —
- Now 187
- Deferred income
- —
- Now £3.3m
- Fixed assets
- —
- Now £2.4m
Deferred income is reported together with accruals in this filing (“accruals and deferred income”), so it is an approximate signal only.
Group structure
Ownership chain
- Atl Technology UK Holdings Limitedultimate parent75–100%
- Gyrus Medical Limitedthis company
Bands show the share of ownership each company holds in the one below it.
From the Persons with Significant Control register (corporate controllers only).
Similar profitable businesses
- De Soutter Medical LimitedAylesbury · Manufacture of medical and dental instruments and supplies
- Revenue
- £70.8m
- Profit
- £17.4m
- Staff
- 198
- Anetic Aid LimitedHavant · Manufacture of medical and dental instruments and supplies
- Revenue
- £24m
- Profit
- £7.1m
- Staff
- 66
- Pelican Healthcare LimitedCardiff · Manufacture of medical and dental instruments and supplies
- Revenue
- £35.9m
- Profit
- £5.4m
- Staff
- 184
- Medisafe UK LimitedBasingstoke · Manufacture of medical and dental instruments and supplies
- Revenue
- £17.3m
- Profit
- £5m
- Staff
- 57
- Karl Storz Endoscopy (UK) LimitedDundee · Manufacture of medical and dental instruments and supplies
- Revenue
- £89.9m
- Profit
- £4.3m
- Staff
- 251
- Unisurge International LimitedNewmarket · Manufacture of medical and dental instruments and supplies
- Revenue
- £71.9m
- Profit
- £4.3m
- Staff
- 278
Sources
Latest figures from FullAccounts for the year to 31 Dec 2023 (profit £993k), from the Companies House accounts bulk data published Nov 2024. Spotted an error? Request a correction.
Contains public sector information from Companies House licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data from Companies House, © Crown copyright. View the licence.